pub discussions (in a series of discussions)

Last night at the pub, BigBlueSturge asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up.

I said an astronaut, a fireman who rescues burning kittens from trees*, and something else I can’t remember as I was drunk (but not that drunk**).

Obviously, life chucks shit at all your aspirations and here I am a lowly computer fixerer. Still, one needs to have a goal to focus on, something to attain, something that, at your funeral, people can think, “Wow, he actually did that!”***

So, readers, what do you want to do when you get sent into the world to “make it big”?

*Last night, it would seem, the worms were not in the right author. But think of those poor burning kittens!
**In case Mother is reading.
***There was further discussion along related lines, but perhaps that is for another post.

One Response to pub discussions (in a series of discussions)

  1. Bertjammin says:

    This is a question which I ask myself increasingly as I get older – “Is this what I want to be doing?” and “What legacy will I leave the world that (inevitably) mourns my passing?”. The answer to the first question is almost invariably “No” but I have no real answer to the second other than my children.
    I suppose I’d like to have written something that more than two dozen people have read and enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

