different episode i guess

I watched the first episode of Doctor Who last night. So did IO9. Except they appear to have watched a totally different episode to the one I watched.

1. Matt Smith is not yet the Doctor. His interpretation – for this episode at least – was flimsy, but obviously it requires some time for him to bed down into it. Unlike David Tennant who spent most of his first episode in bed.
2. The story was excellent. A proper story-teller’s tale. And it didn’t involve wheelie bins eating people. This means, by default, without even trying, it was far better that RTD’s opener, “Rose”.
3. Amy’s Aunt knew the Doctor’s face because Amy has been drawing him and building little versions of him all her life. Pay attention.
4. Yer new version of the theme is just wrong.

That’ll do.

PS. Oh yes, apart from the bit which went against everything this British Institution stands for, and had The Doctor say “Who’s da maaaan?” Fuck off Moffat. The Yanks can sort themselves out for that kind of twat language if they want it. I know it was a joke and I know The Doctor said he’d never say it again, but in the entire world of acting, I’ve never seen a line said with less enthusiasm by an actor. And I’ve been to a lot of local amateur dramatics shows.

2 Responses to different episode i guess

  1. Manuel says:

    I don’t get it, the fascination with Dr Woo….I juts don’t get it and adults that watch it need to have a look at themselves….no offence like…heh

  2. Alf says:

    Manuel, if your life was as wretched as mine, you too would look for an hour’s worth of escapism every week.

    Hell, I work with computers and mainly wear black. I’m a geek. A geek do you hear?! Now, excuse me while I book my tickets to go to a sci-fi convention with all my friends in their Klingon costumes.

Leave a Reply

